Tarawera Ultra

I am heading up to Rotorua on Thursday afternoon. The bags are packed – the training is over. I have a couple of niggles but hopefully these won’t affect me Saturday.

The weather looks great and the website has plenty of information so I have read and re read to learn as much as I can.

The course has several climbs and finishes with a run beside the Tarawera river – about 25kms from the Tarawera Falls to the finish !

For the first time yesterday I wondered what I had let myself in for – however I know I am really going to enjoy this one – I want to finish strongly but whatever happens will be just fine. It will be a blessing to be in the bush, to see the lakes, the life – it will all be completely new for me.

That Mark Twain quote comes to mind:

Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.

Author: nzkoobi

I am Tom.

1 thought on “Tarawera Ultra”

Leave a Reply

