Spring in my steps!

Well it has been a wet and cool start to the spring season here in the Manawatu and judging by the weather reports pretty much all of good old NZ has been experiencing changeable climatic conditions.

I have been plodding away faithfully during the last months and have some reasonable kms stored away in the bank. The body feels pretty good and the event calendar has filled up fast. Time to put a spring in my stride and enjoy this beautiful country.

First up for me is the Feilding Marathon Nov 7. It is a great out and back course starting from Timona Park in Feilding , heading out and up to the Stanway Hall and turning around and running all the way back again. Always a friendly field and gorgeous scenery. I have only run one previous Feilding event but have helped out there for the last two years. Entry forms here.

Followed by the Mt Curl run on the 14th. This is another new event for me. It Starts in Marton at the Tutaenui Hall and is 28kms or so. There is a significant climb up the Mt Curl hill which I am looking forward to tackling. Follow this link and scroll to the bottom of the page to find the info.

I may get to share some kms with Lisa Tamati as she runs the length of NZ. More about this closer to the day. She can be found here.

Now if all is going well at this point I’ll run the Coley St School half marathon on the 22nd. This is a delightful half marathon in Foxton. You get some country running, visit the Manawatu River Estuary and smell the sea even though you don’t see much from the route.

Then back up the next weekend with a marathon over two days as I take part in my second Kahuterawa classic. This is a small event but the organisers have promoted it this year so I am expecting more entrants.

Then I have a weekend off, school camp for part of the next week and then it will be all go for the Wanganui Marathon.

That takes us to Dec 12th and I’ll then take a lighter week or so and re set for the Hutt River Trail 60km trail run which is scheduled for January 23rd 2010.

Now all things going well and the body is strong I will then set up for the Tarawera 100km Ultra. This is a repeat of this year’s run but slightly longer. I have already entered and you can too right here.

As always my aim with events is to finish and enjoy. I won’t be racing any events as such but will do my best on the day.
I’ll blog brief event reports as I am able.

Good luck to all of you who have events coming up – enjoy and peace to all.
Happy trails !

Author: nzkoobi

I am Tom.

1 thought on “Spring in my steps!”

Leave a Reply

