Wacom Bamboo CTH 460

I am writing this blog using a Wacom Bamboo tablet. This model is a CTH 460. I brought it for school but when the kids in R5 used it many of them went back to using the mouse – there if quite a bit of tweaking to get the bamboo just how you like it.

It works very well on Apple’s Pages especially when I work In full screen mode. I have tried it in my browser but it made more errors.

In Pages the error rate was a lot lower plus you get the possibility to use full screen mode which gives you plenty of real estate to work with.

I have to write a little smaller  as it wants to capitalise many of my letters. This was overcome by rearranging the tablet on my desk and supporting my wrist a little more.

In the Writing of this Sentence E have left the text exactly as it appeared. As you can see it has recognised several leHers as capitals. And made some errors. (I added the italics later)

With more time Using the Wacom tablet I am sure that it will be more accurate and I will spend less time editing my errors. I would like to use it regularly to write with as I do not enjoy typing. When you type you are somewhat disconnected with the creative process because you are simply tapping keys however when you hand write a piece of writing you are writing as your first learned to do. Another reason It could be very helpful for me is the fact that when I type I often hit a wrong key – usually it is one to the left or right of  the key I wanted. I have no chance of that happening with this tablet but the error rate will have to diminish somewhat for it to become a regular tool to use.   It is ‘Old School’ style writing but using a new tool.

The screen capture above is to show you what it looks like as you use it. A yellow ‘pad’ appears asyou put thepen on the tablet. When you finish writing simply stop and the ‘yellow’disappears and your text appears on the page. You can also use the pen as a mouse.